Meant to be. 

I’ve always thought I was destined to be something amazing, a star, a celebrity, famous. 

I’ve tried music… I can’t play the guitar that well although I did do fairly well as a DJ. My karaoke skills are on point, if I do say so myself, however I don’t think I was destined for anything with rhythm because lords knows I lack in that area. 

So I set myself up for being an amazing professional. Professional what? I’m not too sure yet. I’ve always done very well with business, I attained more goals than I even dreamt before I was 25 but that just wasn’t it. There had to be more. 

So I set myself abroad. I travelled alone, visiting many states and provinces all the while meeting people from all walks of life. I started blogging, I was writing for me and writing for all of you. I was doing what I loved, and loving every minute of it. 

I met my husband in Wyoming, in a small town called Cheyenne that resembles my home town of Calgary, Alberta in many ways. It just felt right. 

I wasn’t rich, famous, absorbing the instagram spotlight, or living amongst the stars, but I felt at home. Something I haven’t truly felt in years. Although I was “at home” or near my family so to speak, I didn’t feel like I was in the right place. I didn’t feel as thought I was where I was meant to be. 

27 days later I found myself married and starting the immigration process to become an American. Don’t get me wrong, this come with many trials and tribulations to say the least. I’ll save that for another blog post though as its a very long process with many many hiccups along the way. 

Back to the point. I was home. My husband isn’t perfect, but he’s perfect to me. I love him for all his amazing traits, and I love him more for his flaws. We all have them, let’s not be unrealistic. Home is where your heart is, I never truly understood that until I met Mr. K. We’re going to call him “K” for what it’s worth seeing as he’s not much of a social media guru like myself. He was home to me, and he always will be. 

I’ve learned a lot about myself in the past few months but the biggest thing I’ve come to realize is that, I am where I’m supposed to be. All the glitz and glamour that I dreamt would engulf my life… Well this is it. It may be a small town bar, an amazing friend that dresses like a pirate a week before Halloween (which I love because it’s my favorite day of the year,) a pint (sorry Canada I mean a mickey) of fireball and some Halloween classics like Hocus Pocus all alone on a Monday night while my hubby works away to provide for us, but that’s the razzle dazzle. 

Casper has finally met Wendy, and we are going to jäger bombs under the moonlight. Oh how romantic. I wouldn’t have it any other way. 

Sometimes it’s not what you imagined, it’s even better. You just have to see the stars before you judge them on their ability to shine. 

Love&Light, 

Jessica 

Leave a Reply

