JT dreams too. 

Alright, first things first, I am not referring to Justin Timberlake. This post is about a man who is inspirational through his music and the stories he shares through lyrics. He’s been in the spotlight for years and I can personally say that he is humble, kind, and very friendly. 

My father worked for a music company when I was young, I was very fortunate to meet some amazing artists although truthfully I was too young to appreciate the wonderful gift that was bestowed upon me at the time. 

Photographs of artists like Shania and Jan Arden posed next to my father are a mere part of the decor in my parents home. 

I’ve always had a love for music and I would said it goes as far as being a passion. I learned to play the guitar, I love to sing, I taught myself how to mix music, and there is more than one occasion that I’ve gotten lost in lyrics and seen multiple days go by without notice. 

Last night I had the priveledge of seeing one of my all time idols with my father. This man is someone who I grew up listening to and is one of my fathers favorite artists, and mine as well. This man not only sang last night, he told jokes, stories, and I was lucky enough to meet him, exchange stories and even take some selfies. 

Who is this man, I’m sure you’re curious. His name is James Taylor and in 1968 when he sang “something in the way she moves” for Paul McCartney and George Harrison he had a dream about being signed by a label. The Beatles record label “Apple Records” signed him and gave him the shot to be the astounding musician he is today. 

Prior to being signed, James had a band called “Original Flying Machine” which seemingly crashed and burned before his opportunity at stardom. His parents had grown tired of him lounging around the house all day so he set off and at that time whilst dealing with the pains of missing home he wrote and recorded my all time favorite song “Carolina.”

This just goes to show, no matter how small you feel in this world with a plethora of people and their dreams, yours may come true to. You just have to work for it. 

Thank you James Taylor for a wonderful show last with your All Star Band. You left the crowd with memories of a fantastic evening and many laughs. One of my dreams was to meet you, last night we crossed that off the bucket list. Enjoy your Caesar, glad I got to teach you about my favorite beverage. 

Love&Light,

Jessica 

Leave a Reply

