BE THAT WOMAN – Guest Post 

Throughout my travels I always seem to attract people who have a story to share, unbeknownst to me while surfing through Instagram I came across a profile I just couldn’t ignore. 

I never could have dreamt up the story that I’m about to share from a wonderfully inspiring and influential woman. Sade Travers is the author of this next piece and she is nothing less that truly amazing. I’m very proud to say that she more than willingly wrote a piece to contribute to The Basic Bish and it is my pleasure to share this with you. 

Thank you Sade, your words are so motivating and captivating. My greatest gratitude goes to you for sharing your story.

Guest post by Sade Travers of “Be That Woman”

“When I was younger I knew I wanted to help people, I wanted to be the person that I needed when I was younger and trying to figure my life out. I had huge dreams and ambitions and I didn’t know how to get to where I wanted to be.

As a fitness trainer I spent a lot of my time talking to women and listening to the things they say about their dreams and about their desires. Also about their aspirations for having the perfect life, the perfect body, and the happiest life. I found I was offering a lot of advice which my clients and friends found very useful- from there it all kind of just evolved.

I had the talent for sharing my advice that women could relate to, because I just “got it”, I understood on a deep level what they were trying to say, and what they needed to here. I am very intuitive in nature so I think that plays in my favour.

I spent years working on myself after that, discovering who I wanted to be and what I was going to do with this desire of helping women. I have read hundreds of books, invested money on self-development programs and grown as a person through my own life experiences.

Last year when I was 26 I was diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma, which is a cancer of the lymphatic system. It took me and my entire world by surprise- as you can imagine! Funnily enough it threw me deeper into the depths of self-discovery through the process, which enabled me to see how strong and powerful I really was. I used the power of positive thinking as well as allowing as much love into my life to help me get through what was the toughest time of my life.

I created a blog (www.sade-travers.squarespace.com) to provide support and love to those around the world who were going through the same thing and give them a literal shoulder to lean on. From here my love of writing was formed and I had email after email of people telling me they were moved by what I wrote and even though some of them did not have cancer they found something compelling in my writing- this motivated me even more to share my message.

I came up with Be That Woman near the end of my cancer journey- something that I knew I needed in my life to give me purpose. It was a dream I had, which I actioned on and turned it into a reality!

The message of Be That Woman is all about empowering women to live life boldly and to love boldly- both themselves and others. It’s all about banishing the self-doubt and just going for it!

Creating Be That Woman has given me a chance to express the real me, to share the vulnerable sides of me to allow me to show up in the world more authentically. To have had to trust my decisions and to push myself further into love and life than I ever thought possible. I do not want to die with my message still inside me- that I know to be true.

I have faced challenges while on this journey, most of which have been created by myself. My self-doubt and the lack of faith I have in myself has sometimes left me feeling very vulnerable about sharing the deepest parts of me. But, I always need to remind myself that there is someone out there who NEEDS to hear what I have to say- and that is why I keep going.

I want to be the example that anyone can change the world, that anyone can make a HUGE difference in so many people’s lives- just by being you.”

Love&Light,

Jessica 

Leave a Reply

