Hear me roar. 

I am a girl, yes. I can be girlie, yes. I love football, beer, fixing cars, motocross, and I golf almost every weekend. Should this make me any less of a woman? No. 

My friends are dudes, girls don’t generally like me. I am a carpenter currently by trade, I like to fix things. I like to have an understanding of how things work. I don’t get my nails done, I don’t have fake hair or fake boobs, I’m just a girl. A girl who loves to travel, meet people, hear their stories, spread positive vibes and be “out there.” Don’t call me on Super Bowl Sunday because it’s the Super Bowl, clearly I’m busy. 

I don’t go to church, and I don’t always listen to my parents. Quite frankly, they think I’m crazy. I’ve never been one to “go with the status quo.” I am who I am and nothing will change that. 

I feel bad for women who live their lives with a side of caution, scared of being who they truly are because they’re afraid they won’t be liked. Yes I have my challenges when I have to explain to a boyfriend that my friends are 99% male but it’s a challenge I accept. This is my life and those who are not willing to be understanding of it, have no place in it. 

A long time ago I decided to stop being a people pleaser and start living my life the way I see it fit. This brings me great joy and I love every moment of it. 

Just remember. A wise man once said “those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter, don’t mind.” 

Words to live by. Be who you are and say what you feel. Life is a journey, not a destination. We should ALL grasp this concept because in the end, we all have the same destination, you’ll never make it out alive. We’re all living, but are we? 
Love&Light, 

Jessica 

Leave a Reply

