Tay C Fitness Guest Post 

For years I have been inspired by this woman, although she never knew it. Tea is definitely the definition of motivational. Not only is she an Entrepreneur, Lifestyle Coach, Althete, and Published Model, she’s been a major impact on the lives of some people very close to my heart. 

Tea never knew this but I have always followed from afar in awe of just how inspiring she can be so I figured I would try my luck and reach out to her. To my surprise she was more than happy to make a contribution to The Basic Bish. 

Thank you from the bottom of my heart Tea, keep on inspiring! 

Now without further ado, here is Tea’s contribution: 

What inspires you? What motivates you? What drives you?

Questions I ask my clients almost weekly… yet I was a little thrown when Jess approached me (so sweetly) to write about the things that I am motivated by. I had to sit, think, long and hard about this one.

I have been in this industry for over 10 years now, barely- and now fully- engulfed. My day to day routine has become just that, routine. I wake up, pet my dogs, eat my breakfast, drink my coffee and get ready to help women see the beauty they hold. Jeez, that sounded a bit corny. Never in a million years had I imagined that the life of a trainer would give me to opportunity to be so physically, emotionally and intellectually involved in the raw and real lives of others.

When I first began my own fitness journey, I was inspired by fitness models that graced the covers of my favourite magazines, I dreamt of getting to a place physically where I could wear a bikini and feel confident… heck I wanted to be able to wear shorts on a summer day. Fast-forward to 2016 and here I am, my own photo in those coveted fitness magazines. Never would I have imagined this would be possible in a million years… the thing that surprises me the most is that is no longer my motivation.

Abs are cool, having a nice butt is pretty rad but nothing could inspire me to wake up and be better every day than the powerful, hardworking women I am surrounded by thanks to Team Tight n’ Curvy.

The fitness world can be a very lonely place, something I discovered when I entered it years ago. I loved the sport and the challenge it brought but there was always something missing for me. I wanted to share my excitement with others, to talk about what I had learnt, to celebrate PR’s and new successes…the only problem was “regular” people didn’t care about these things to the extent that I did. That’s when the idea hit me! To focus my business on team growth, progress and transformation rather than isolating each client to their own journey. Now don’t get me wrong, everyone is unique and each story is different but the opportunity to share in a team that provides understanding and unconditional support made me feel excited, motivated and alive. Seeing these girls achieve their goals, strive for their dreams and work a little harder each day is more than enough motivation to keep me going. They push each other, genuinely care about their teammates and they DO get excited about PR’s and new ways to cook chicken;)

When I have a bad day, am feeling lazy or just avoiding the gym at all costs, I look to these girls who hustle daily to be better and I can’t help but be inspired, to get off the couch, to work a little harder, sweat a little more. Not only am I motivated physically, I am continuously reminded of the reason I have the career that I do, the reason I work ridiculous hours and don’t take vacations- these bad ass babes that are, Team Tight n’ Curvy!

If I could give a single piece of advice to anyone working towards their dreams whether it be physical, emotional, career or relationship- it would be to find your “why”. Your main driving factor. The one thing that gets you moving on even the worst of days and reminds you to put one foot in front of the other. If your why is strong enough, there is nothing that can get in the way of you and your success.

We are all different, unique in our own way. From the size of our pants, to the shape of our booty’s and our favourite treat meals… however… we all have one thing in common… we put in 110% daily towards living a better life! For me, the girls of Tight n Curvy are my why and that is more than enough reason for me to wake up a little earlier and go to bed a little later to soak up all the potential life offers to make my dreams a reality.

 Xox T

@taycfitness on IG 

Leave a Reply

