Reality. 

In this world I have come to face the cold hard truth. Life is not all it seems to be and as much as we try not to let society tell us who we are, we allow people to change us. We allow them to hold our hearts, pain, and tears. 

It’s an undeniable truth I know I would much rather forget about than acknowledge but it exists. Life isn’t about perfect timing, it’s about accepting the beautiful opportunities when they arise because at the end of the day, you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone. 

I let my emotions get the best of me and I’ll be the first to admit it, I wear my heart on my sleeve hoping it won’t get broken but knowing its capable of shattering. I have accepted my faults, I don’t believe in flaws. I think flaws are the ideas and judgements we accept from others. The things we hear, the names people call us, and the imperfections they speak of are cast upon on us. We give up or give in and the real fault is that we listen to those words so closely we end up believing them. 

I know I’m not perfect, I am far from it. The feelings I have are real, the happy thoughts that prevail and allow me to conquer a difficult day I embrace with gratitude. I have reintroduced myself in the last year as the person I know I am, the person I strive to be better than with each passing day. The part that bothers me is that although I know who I am and where I am going, I’ll never be able to make someone else believe that. 

Today was challenging and tomorrow will be too, but there is no one else I would rather experience that with, than you. 

2 thoughts on “Reality. 

Leave a Reply

